The Definition Of Success

So one day after doing a 10 Questions Q&A on someone else, I wanted to play ask Chris for today’s post, but I didn’t get enough questions from enough people so I shelved it. However, I did get a very good question that I can talk about.

Someone I converse with on Twitter on a regular basis asked me now that I’ve gone into business for myself, what moment will make me feel like I’ve succeeded? Wow.

Before I talk about that, I saw a picture on Tumblr of a guy getting out of the starting blocks and running on a track and the caption was simple: “Run your own race.” That’s something I’ve had a problem doing for years in the proverbial sense of always measuring myself against other people and what they’re doing and how what I’m doing is somehow inferior.

As I continue to find out more and more about myself this summer, I realize that I really can’t be someone else, no matter how better than me I think they’re doing. I can only be me. I have to learn to accept me as I am, who I am, what I am, how I am and what I’m doing.

That being said, success for me will be being able to be proud of what I’ve accomplished or tried. People have told me that quitting my job to go into business for myself was super brave and of course me being the self-deprecating goofball I am, I never really bought into that. I thought anybody could do it if they wanted to – I didn’t think I was doing anything special.

Yet the more I think about it, I have a right to feel good about what I did. As much as I talk about trying to make changes in my life, the biggest change of them all is dropping a steady paycheck to chase a dream and try to create something to help others without having to answer to any boss but myself.  If this thing takes off, if it does okay, or if I have to abandon it and go back to the working world, then I’ve at least tried and that’s more than some get to do. But my full intention is for this to be my career from here on out. I’m determined to make it work, but I’m prepared to accept if it doesn’t.

So it’s really not a money amount, it’s not recognition, it’s more or less the fact I tried. There’s a story behind that feeling of “just give it a try” on my Tumblr if you want more info, but it’s too personal for here.

So I guess to answer the question, success for me is feeling good about me and what I’m doing. Even if it comes sooner or later, that’s the beauty of defining your own success – it’s yours and yours alone.

One thought on “The Definition Of Success

  1. Pingback: 30 in 30 Outro « Chris Stevens

Leave a Reply

