Affection for Imperfections

Question: Have you ever taken time to analyze everything about yourself? God knows I have.

One thing about me that drives people up a wall is how I never seem to have anything positive to say about myself and I focus mainly on the negative about myself. Basically, I fail to own up to my imperfections and instead of working on changing them or accepting them, I dwell on how bad they are and the reason why things go wrong for me sometimes.

Not in this post. I encourage everyone reading to join me in doing this, because we owe it to ourselves to be honest and feel good about ourselves, imperfections notwithstanding.

I’m going to accept some flaws and others I can work on.

I want to work on trust. I don’t trust a lot of people. I think everyone’s out to hurt me, especially when it comes to women and dating. I want to learn to give people a chance and not judge books by covers, especially since I ask people to do the same for me.

I’m going to accept that my new glasses remind me of just how prominent my nose is on my face. I used to wear my glasses down on my nose, so no one could really know how big the damn thing is, but these new specs give me no such room to operate, so I have to wear these glasses proudly and admit that I indeed have a big nose. Besides, these new frames look hot.

I’m going to work on over-thinking, over-reacting and just being overly too much. When things go wrong or not according to plan, I start thinking the worse of myself, the worse of everybody else and then I get angry, sad, frustrated and eventually vent that I think people are terrible and I’m cursed. This can’t be helped but so much thanks to my depressive state, but hopefully I can get some help with this shortly.

I’m going to accept my voice. Unless they pioneer voice transplant surgery and I can get the Barry White or Tony Brown voice, I have to accept how I sound for how it is. For the longest, I got teased for “sounding white,” “talking proper,” “not-black” and it really gave me a complex. Which is hilarious considering I host a podcast in talk show format, but it’s still a concern of mine. That will change. If my voice bothers you, then I don’t need to be around you.

I’m going to learn that even if I don’t lose another pound, I’m still a person. Everything that makes up me, I can’t turn it on and off like a switch. I have to be me. My weight has always been a concern and as I’m down 45 pounds and getting closer and closer to my first goal, I still don’t think much of myself. I have to learn that even if it doesn’t matter to anyone else, the inside is what counts and I have enough good things to take away from the fact I’ll never be a ladies’ man.

I’m going to work on procrastination. Seriously. I would get so much work done if my mind didn’t wander and I could focus on getting tasks done. Yesterday was a good example. I spent much of my day working on a playlist for my podcast last night, writing my post for yesterday and finishing up something for a client, but I literally didn’t get all that done until about 5:30 and I started at 10, why? Because I got distracted by random stuff. Full day’s work I suppose.

So as a challenge of your own, note some of your flaws and imperfections, figure out which ones you can change, which ones you can accept and go from there. Hopefully it’ll a perfect step in the right direction for us all. Then again, nobody and nothing’s perfect. Work through it anyway.

2 thoughts on “Affection for Imperfections

  1. *starts slow hand clap that builds up into a thunderous applause*
    Can I say that I so approve this message. I am very happy for you and your new found acceptance.
    I do reevaluations of my life every once in a while. Whether things are going good or bad, I like to take stock of everything and see where I am, what I can change and what I can’t or shouldn’t. It’s a necessary evil.

    Keep up the positivity though, it looks good on you!

  2. *starts slow hand clap that builds up into a thunderous applause*
    Can I say that I so approve this message. I am very happy for you and your new found acceptance.
    I do reevaluations of my life every once in a while. Whether things are going good or bad, I like to take stock of everything and see where I am, what I can change and what I can\’t or shouldn\’t. It\’s a necessary evil.

    Keep up the positivity though, it looks good on you!

Leave a Reply

