Positives

Positives

As I blogged about accepting flaws and imperfections yesterday, I figure it’s only right to write something about the positives that I see in myself. This is going to be one of the harder blog entries I’ve ever made super public, so it might take a while and I doubt it will be very cohesive, but rock with me anyway.

First thing I like about myself is my smile.

Image

Pic taken in June of 2010. If I could ever get my face back to being this slim…

I used to never smile as a kid. I guess I was grumpy from an early age, but the more I laughed, the more I stopped trying to hide my smile, the better the results. I still have a hard time accepting that particular compliment (probably because my smile never gets me anywhere in terms of dating and such), but the more pics I take of myself smiling, the more I can admit that it’s not a bad quality I have.

Another good quality I have is my ability to bounce back.  So many times in my life I’ve had bad things happen and when they happen, I go into a serious slump for a while, but then I pick myself up. Even though the hurt from a lot of situations over my lifetime still lingers, I still manage to press on.

I’m also a solid listener and conversationalist. Even though I’m super awkward, I still manage to hold my own when talking to people. I just don’t practice it enough. It’s always nice to hear that people enjoy talking to you. I wish I could do it more often, but that whole shy-socially awkward struggle is real. I’m just afraid to speak up. I shouldn’t be.

I’ve always been thankful for intelligence. Not being cocky or arrogant, but I feel good knowing that if I don’t know something I can learn about it and not be a total dunce when the subject comes up. Much like in the music post on Sunday, when I decide to become a student of something, I immerse myself in it. It’s one of the more awesome things one can do, research and learn that is. I could think of something else, but this is a family blog…sort of.

Lastly, I’m proud of myself for taking a huge risk in terms of career/job moves. I’ve outlined it. I wasn’t happy at my last job, I felt ready for a change and wanted to see if I could make a living doing my own thing. So far it’s been slow going and only time will tell how this works out, but my mother always said “Nothing beats a failure but a try.” And here we are.

Leave a Reply

