The “writing a book” struggle

It really shouldn’t be this hard.

Write. Talk to people. Research. Write.

Yet and still, 14 months after buying a notebook with the express purpose of filling it to the brim with information for a historical book, it sits next to me empty as I write this blog post. What’s taking me so long? Why I haven’t started the grunt work? Hell, why don’t I at least have a chapter summary lined up?

Procrastination is my biggest enemy. Has been since I was a kid. I know it takes time for an idea to develop, but I REALLY want to get this done concurrent with the social media/writing/editing business because it just makes more sense in terms of credibility on both sides. However, I happen to get distracted by one thing and forget about what I was originally working on. Losing this weight and planning to leave my job to start my business took precedence over the book. Unfortunately, unlike Future, I can’t do a bunch of stuff “At the same damn time.”

But fear is starting to take over. Fear I might not ever get this thing started. Fear someone might take the idea. Fear of generally not achieving one of my life’s goals, which was to write a book and have it published.

So I guess the best thing to do is channel that fear into something productive in terms of the book, so my plan is to force myself to do at least one thing a day for the book, if it’s writing, talking to someone, planning, etc. I’ve got to make it happen. I have to budget time for the book as I’m exercising and working on other things.

So I need everyone reading to hold me to this, even though this dream and this goal is ultimately my responsibility. Ask me how the book is going so I can say “DAMN, I need to do this, that and the other for it.”

Hopefully this blog challenge will build some good habits as far as the book goes. Lord knows blogging every day for the last 25 (well, now 26) days has been  an exercise in endurance and patience.

So starting today, I’m taking my book idea seriously. I’m making time to plan, contact people, do research and just get this done. Hopefully this struggle will lead to some progress and ultimately, a book.

Leave a Reply

