The Body Post

The long road continues and I still have a ways to go to reach my ultimate goal, but I feel comfortable enough to share this journey with you all in a picture.

Now mind you, for as long as I can remember, I’ve avoided full body pics. When I was really heavy, there was no way on God’s green earth that I was gonna let everybody see everything in a photo. A lot of that of course is bad self-perception, over reacting, and maybe some exaggeration. The one pic that exists of me being close to 400 pounds is almost 8 years old (and actually in an earlier post on this blog).

But now that I can see the changes in my body and on the scale, I can post a pic with not as much trepidation as I would have as recently as March, when I was still about 345-350 pounds. Also I’ll give you a clue as to where I’d like to be as far as a final goal. I can think of two NFL running backs (one former, one current), who I’d like to emulate as far as build. So here goes:

Image

Ricky Williams, 5‘10, 230 pounds in his playing heyday.

Image

Michael Turner of the Atlanta Falcons, 5‘10, 250.

Image

And this is me as of this morning (forgive the scruffiness), 5‘9 1/2, 274 pounds.

The idea is to get down into the 220-230 range and try to tone up and keep it there, but that’s another 45-50 pounds away, even though I’ve lost 73 already.

The numbers adding up are absolutely great, but the fact that I can see and feel the changes in my body are absolutely the best part of the entire equation. I honestly believe I’m on the right path time and the major thing now is just keeping focused on getting healthy and staying healthy.  I did this before Thanksgiving for a reason – I may backslide, but as long as I don’t fall into a weeks-long lull, I’ll be fine. I just wanted to share my progress in case I slipped.

Even though I don’t think I will.

3 thoughts on “The Body Post

Leave a Reply

