Thankful for a new start

The first e-mail of praise came across my work computer Tuesday morning for a story I put together Monday evening and wrote and sent to my new boss the next morning. I could only smile and shake my head at the good fortune of finding a job this close to the end of the year. I’m currently a part-time PR/communications person at a local school, a far but welcomed cry from the journalism rat race I spent 5 years going crazy in.

Three days into the job, things are going smooth, so we can consider this the honeymoon stage obviously, but this is more of a thought about being thankful. I did my podcast last Wednesday before taking a break from it (financial reasons, which won’t be a problem as long as I’m employed again) to express my thanks for being back in the workforce after 18 months out. The business thing didn’t work out like I’d like, but that doesn’t mean I’m going away from it – the reality of bills and the desire of wanting to be completely self-sufficient kicked in, so I’m back to work. And I’m glad.

Thanksgiving is tomorrow and as I write this, the way fate kinda smiled on me was weird. If you know me, you knew I went running and screaming from the media game, vowing never to return. However this job came up and I wanted to see if I was up for the challenge. Thankfully, my new bosses decided I was and offered me the job eight days after I interviewed, so now I have to get going.

 I can’t tell you how happy I am to be back at work, doing something I reasonably enjoy. And that’s where being thankful comes in.

It’s really hard out here to find a job – trust me I applied for so many data entry and office assistant jobs, only to be ignored despite having a degree – so I know that people are trying and coming up empty and it’s frustrating. VERY frustrating. So when a job comes along, you tend to not take it for granted, and I know that’s true of me after trying to be self-employed for a year and a half.

But even if you’re struggling to find work or with a job you absolutely hate, there are things you can be thankful for. Have someone special in your life? Cuddle up to them a little closer this season. Great family? Spend more time with them and let them know how much they mean to you. Enjoy your own company? Treat yourself to a great dinner, a movie or book if possible. It’s really hard to think about happiness and contentment in trying times, but one thing I’ve learned in my own process is that the small victories sometimes tend to be the most rewarding.

Something you enjoy, whether it’s a certain dish, movie, book, or an accomplished goal can leave you feeling just a little better than before. And while it certainly isn’t a cure-all, it’s a reminder that things can get better.

I still have a hard time accepting that things have the potential to improve, but as I find myself employed again and hopefully turning a corner professionally and personally, I’m still going to find things to be thankful for even if things don’t go as planned. And that’s really the spirit of Thanksgiving in a nutshell – things aren’t perfect, but you’re still here.

And that’s something to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

