Crossroads Options

The feeling of being at a crossroads is certainly an interesting thing for me. I’ve had so much practice with that feeling and actual practice that it really shouldn’t surprise me when I find myself at this place. Yet I do.

That being said, Wednesday night I got to hear a guest speaker at an event I was working for The Corporation when she announced the theme of her speech was “Crossroads – which way will you go?”

I sat and listened as Lauren Wilson, who used to cover Delaware news for Channel 6 Action News out of Philly for as LONG as I could remember growing up, detailed the ending of her position 4 years ago and concurrent divorce and how she had to figure out her own way. It got me to thinking about my own life and where I wanted to end up eventually. I still have my dreams of writing books and running a small business, sustaining and living that way, but I’m not sure if it’s doable.

Guess that’s where Ms. Wilson’s part of walking by faith and not by sight took over. She found a new career as a PIO (irony!) in one of the local school districts and runs her own visual production company and plans to start teaching at a local college soon, passing down her years of journalism and reporting experience to students.

So that inspired this post and the overall point of it – the crossroads can be a scary place, especially as you get older. I’m four months away from 33 and I don’t feel good about my life or feel I’m anywhere near making progress on it. I know someone reading this post eventually will identify with the feelings of not being where you want to be, not seeing the light at the end of the tunnel and wondering if you’ll ever get it right.

These are things being at a crossroads makes you think about. It can either make you withdraw or force you to plan, sharpen your focus and get to where you want to be. It just boils down to being fed up enough with your current and previous circumstances to get in gear and find your own way.

And when you get to that point, not only is it a beautiful thing, but you’ll definitely be confident and secure in whichever way you decide to go.

Leave a Reply

