Hey, I’m A Believer

As June mercifully comes to a close, I’ve had a lot of time to think about why things have affected me on a deeper and humbling level than normal. That’s saying a lot for someone like me who’s always had a somewhat melancholy view of the world and my life as a whole.

But considering what season it is, it all makes sense to me now. There’s this interesting little astrological twisted called Mercury Retrograde that explains the tortuous, Murphy’s Law turn my life has taken during the month of June.

Mercury in retrograde is when the planet Mercury appears to stop and reverse rotation during a 4 week span throughout various times of a calendar year. Mercury Retrograde usually explains why some astrological signs have a tougher time during this period than most. I’m a Libra who believes in astrology to a degree, so it’s the best explanation I have for the blues and the struggles I’m going through currently.

I used to see folks, usually women I follow Twitter, talk about Mercury Retrograde and I thought to myself, “Maybe there is something to it, but I can’t see it.” June of 2014 changed all of that. In the famous words of comedian Craig Robinson – I SEENT IT!  Up close and personal, Jack. So I’ll never discount anyone who feels some type of way about MR ever again. Between losing a job, feeling even more depressed than normal and having to junk my car, June was unkind to me.

The good news is that Mercury Retrograde ends tomorrow and it couldn’t come at a better time, the first of the month. Hopefully things will start to turn in a better direction for me. My lack of a shave and a hair cut is reflective of the stress MR has put me under, so I’ll probably treat myself to a barbershop trip to start the month off fresh. Besides, I need to be job interview ready and maybe even Google+hangout/Skype ready for when my e-book is released to public.

Yep, finally giving this self-publishing to try, it’ll be a book of short stories that will hopefully be on Amazon.com by the middle of August, so be sure to be on the lookout for more details as I get out of the sluggishness and malaise that Mercury Retrograde dropped on me this month.

I’m going to try to head into July with a more positive outlook on things. June just wasn’t one of those times.

And I’ll be a little more prepared for the next MR swoon now that I know the struggle is indeed real.

Leave a Reply

